Three Years of Growth and Generativity

Hello NHRIers!  My name is Alie Gillespie and I’m delighted to be writing this week’s blog. I’m reflecting, as many seniors do, on my collegiate experiences and I have to say, NHRI has been a standout among them. Though I’ve adored many things about my time in NHRI, my favorite part of mentoring has been experiencing NHRI’s celebration of creative thinking.  

I’ve been a conscientious person my whole life and I’m really motivated by doing the “right thing” in the “right way”. Therefore it was upsetting to me when, as is often the case with new mentors, it took me a little while to hit my stride with my mentee, Jada. Initially, I was fearful that I wasn’t mentoring Jada the mystical and nebulous “right way.”  

What if I didn’t address enough concepts in our first semester?  

What if I ran out of ideas for one-on-ones? 

What if I never had a “breakthrough”?

I knew that I enjoyed the uninhibited inventiveness of the middle school spirit, but I wasn’t quite sure how to connect with it.  Fortunately, my fellow project members let me know loud and clear that I was on track to developing a great relationship by asking those ever-so-famous open-ended questions and seeking out some beloved hot buttons. With their reassurance, my relationship with Jada began to flourish. Thanks to the wonderful example set by older members of the project, I began to trust in my ability to not only recognize Jada’s strengths but also to tailor our one-on-ones to them.  

At the end of my sophomore year, I looked back and breathed a sigh of relief.  My mentee and I had become closer, I hadn’t run out of ideas and, most importantly, because of my project’s support, I had a newfound confidence in my ability to use arts and creativity to engage Jada in conversations about perception, collaboration, and relationship building.

Since sophomore year, I’ve enjoyed continuing to explore the intersection of the arts and leadership development with Jada.  Together we have visited the Sheldon and Kiehcel art galleries, painted, looked at art history books and made countless collages.  During our artistic collaborations we’ve discussed how life literally is a game of “different (brush) strokes for different folks” and how we as artists enjoy the sometimes challenging privilege of sharing emotions and perspectives with others by making beautiful things.  

I wish I could go back and tell my sophomore self to relax and believe in myself, but, had I not struggled, I wouldn’t have come to appreciate the way NHRI seeks to affirm its mentors’ varied approaches to leadership development.  We are united in our mission to develop high human relations capital, but we also enjoy a lot of freedom when it comes to executing that development. This freedom and the affirmation that comes with it have been such blessings to me in college because they’ve grown my self-confidence and sense of personal capability.  

As I’m on my way out the door, I’m a bit tearful about saying goodbye to the routine of project meetings and retreats, but am also grateful to be carrying so many wonderful memories and interpersonal skills with me into life as a college graduate. I’m especially looking forward to putting my NHRI knowledge to work next year as a graduate teaching assistant for the ALEC department! Most of all, I can’t wait to see the wonderful ways future generations of NHRIers continue to establish and grow long-lasting, difference-making investment relationships.

-Alie Gillespie, Senior

East Project and Lux Staff Advisor