Reflection in Isolated Times

As we find ourselves in the midst of the COVID-19 outbreak, I can’t help but take a step back to be thankful. In this day and age news spreads so fast via television, radio, and especially the internet. It can be easy to be overwhelmed by this non-stop news cycle. Events seem bigger, and more important, because the news media is constantly blasting us with updates, warnings, and “advice”. While many people are raiding Walmart, I plan to take a different path. As I look around my home, I am overwhelmed by a sense of comfort, not fear. I am fortunate to live in a country where first-class medical care is a short car ride away. I am lucky to live within driving distance of more grocery stores, convenience marts, and Costco warehouses than I could possibly begin to name off. How did I get so lucky to be born in such an affluent nation? A nation where our own citizens don’t even realize how much they have to be thankful for. I count myself among the luckiest of people to claim citizenship to this great country that can provide me with so much. A country where hard work and loyalty can get me as far as I want to go in this life. A country where an illness, economic recession, or natural disaster cannot tear us down. I hope each one of you reading this feels the same way. 

The ripple effect is ever present in this time. Don’t let this small event put ripples on your pond, because those ripples won’t stay contained there. They will move to my pond, your kids’ pond, and the ponds of people you’ve never even met. So, be the bigger person, take the high path, and maybe just call Grandma on the phone instead of visiting her this week. She’ll understand. Spread ripples of thankfulness, not ripples of fear. 

Our mentors and mentees are continuing to develop their leadership capacity during this time of uncertainty. While face-to-face meetings have been suspended, our young leaders have taken a page from the Marine Corps handbook: Improvise, Adapt, Overcome. In the coming weeks, many new breakthroughs will be made, and stronger friendships will be formed. Our mentors will continue supporting their mentees in any way they are able. This is a group that is strong, smart, and resilient. They continue to support the mission of NHRI no matter the circumstances. 

By Zach Treves

Teenage Project, Senior in NHRI